Coyote Before the Burn…

August 27, 2013

I’m headed to Burning Man in about an hour.

It’s Monday. I decided I was going on Friday.

Making the decision, committing to this last-minute leap, was terrifying. Last time I went, in 2010, I planned for 9 months in advance.

On Friday, when I was wavering – do I stay or do I go? – a friend reminded me:

“Everyone describes Burning Man as transformational. Every year. So. That’s what you’re all about.”

And she is damn right. I am about transforming ourselves into OURSELVES, our true radiant joyful divine selves. Remembering. But even the reminders need to be reminded sometimes. Thank god for good friends.

So I made the decision, I committed, I took the leap, and everything has worked out so seamlessly and perfectly that I had to laugh. I can’t recount all of the brilliant synchronicities because any minute some new friends are coming to pick me up in an RV and we’re headed out to the Playa.

But while I was watching the sun set tonight, a Coyote ran by me, within about 15 feet. Whenever I see an animal nowadays, I immediately look up its Medicine, which in Native American teachings means its Message.

Coyote had some perfect messages for Burning Man:

“If you have [seen Coyote], you can be sure that some kind of medicine is on its way – and it may or may not be to your liking.
Whatever the medicine is, good or bad, you can be sure it will make you laugh, maybe
even painfully. You can also be sure that Coyote will teach you a lesson about yourself.

If we forget to be children and take life with laughter and ease, Coyote
appears to pester us until we let go of the inner pain that keeps us from knowing the joys
of life.
The cosmic joke is not just on ourselves but on everybody else.

When you destroy the illusion of who you are to others and be yourself, you will have restored your innocence.
Get ready for more of the laughs – lots more.
When was the last time you did something just because it was fun? 
Find it amusing and laugh. If you can’t laugh at yourself and your crazy antics, you have lost the game.

Coyote always comes calling when things get too serious.”

 
Text taken from this awesome site.

Image

The smokey pre-Burn/post-Burn skies above Reno, Nevada. By Maya Lila di Vento

 

 

2 Responses to “Coyote Before the Burn…”

  1. coyote is one of my totems. I am known as” Coyote Woman” to some. Coyote is my shadow archetype as well. we have lots of hun being unpredictable at times, even to ourselves! (Me and my shadow).

    Thanks for t his post. I used to do the medicine cards and they were always accurate..

  2. […] My intuition talked me into going to Burning Man super last minute – two days before the Burn started. It was transformational, as always, and ended up redirecting the course of my life. I ended up living in San Francisco for a bit afterwards with friends I met on the playa, then went to visit Portland for the first time ever before coming back down to San Francisco for the month of October. […]

Leave a comment