Setting Inner Greatness Free

February 24, 2013

“The word education derives from the Latin educare, which means “to draw forth from within.” Unfortunately, much of our educational system has fallen into the regime of “pound in from without.” Real education recognizes that each student embodies genius unique to him- or herself, and the goal of learning is to set inner greatness free.”                                                            -Alan Cohen

Every morning I read the day’s entry in ‘A Daily Dose of Sanity’ by Alan Cohen. I started back in 2007 with ‘A Deep Breath of Life,’ also by Alan. He’s one of my favorite spiritual/self development authors for his insight and sense of humor.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’m here to do: my purpose / soul’s calling / what I choose to create / how to use my gifts and enthusiasm and energy for the highest good. AND how to ‘survive’ in this material world – how to get paid (and be open to receiving) doing what I love. Getting over the fear blocks of not-good-enough and just GIVING, being of service, creating all the value I can for others.

Synchronistically, I took a break from writing this entry to attend the ‘sermon’ at the Ceremony of Light (like mass, but the Ananda Ashram version), and today’s talk was about education. The guest speaker was a man who’s the head of the Education for Life schooling system, inspired by Paramahansa Yogananda.  He spoke about how education up to this point was focused on suppression rather than encouraging the unique, individual growth and development of children; he spoke of the gifts and examples of love and trust that children have to offer, how children have higher vibrations than most adults, and how they’re naturally closer to God.

As a bright and talkative child, I received years of negative conditioning in school, being frequently punished, isolated, sent outside or to the principal’s office for not sitting down and shutting up. I’ve had to work hard to undo these internalized messages of wrongness, and am still doing the work today. Probably due to my experiences, I’m fascinated by the movement towards child-centered education, unschooling, and child-driven schooling. (check out an amazing TED talk here).

These last few years I’ve been teaching myself to tune out the negative conditioning and follow my bliss, follow what excites me, do what I love, and trust that everything will work out. It’s often uncomfortable, stressful, scary and challenging, but as my life becomes more and more what I want it to be and I feel freer and more fulfilled, the more I feel that I’m on the right path, and the easier it is to trust.

I was not raised and educated in a system that encouraged me to “set my inner greatness free,” but as an adult, this is what I’ve chosen to be my life’s work. And my life’s play. I hope that our children and future generations won’t have to do all of the un-doing that I see myself and many others having to do; the work of un-schooling, de-programming and healing.

Trust is still the biggest challenge at the moment – trusting that I have value to give, that I deserve to receive in return, and that if I continue to follow my bliss/intuitions/dreams, that everything will work out.

I’ve been moving beyond my fearful perfectionist/protectionist/procrastination habits and creating – like the building the temporary website for the Academy www.awakeningartsacademy.com and putting together this video – my first attempts at building websites and editing videos. I’ve also made more necklaces and will be posting them online, available for sale.

Garnet & Onyx Prayer Wheel Necklace on Snowy Buddha

Garnet & Onyx Prayer Wheel Necklace on Snowy Buddha, Feb 2013

And, inspired by my soul-sister and amazing blogger China Brooks, I’ve added a donation button at the bottom of my blog. Over this past year and a half of nomadic traveling and self-discovery, many have told me that I’ve inspired them. I know how good it feels to give, and I’ve been told that if you don’t allow others to give back, in a way you’re stealing from them – stealing the opportunity for them to show their appreciation and support, and to receive the gift of giving.

So, if you ever feel so inspired, I will happily and joyfully accept your donations!

I’m full of gratitude today as I transition into this next phase of my life, setting more and more of my inner greatness free! Thank you for coming along with me on this journey…

“Everyone has a bankable talent. You came to earth for a purpose. On the deepest level you are here for a spiritual purpose, to discover your identity and your value in the cosmic plan. You also have a form of expression in the world, to serve others while fulfilling yourself. Do not stop until you have tapped into your talent and expressed it. It is why you are here.

Talents are valuable only if you use them. If you “hide your light under a basket,” the light doesn’t get to do what it was created to do. If you ignore or deny your talents, the world misses the blessing you were born to bring to it, and you miss the spiritual and material reward you deserve.” – Alan Cohen, ‘Trust Your Talent’

“Never underestimate the power of any act of courage or kindness. When you live in alignment with your true self, you send out ripples that affect the entire universe.” – Alan Cohen, ‘Thank You For Eating The Cake’

7 Responses to “Setting Inner Greatness Free”

  1. Zia said

    Life is funny. So funny. I see you write about how much you want to tap into your life’s purpose and goal. I figured mine out within the last 5-6 years. Saving dogs of course. 😉 Then I read this article the other day by Kris Carr, of ‘Crazy Sexy Cancer’ about how even if we find our life’s goal, it still is just “one more thing that we think that will make us happy and doesn’t”.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/kris-carr/finding-your-purpose_b_2449235.html

    I am totally resonating with her article right now…There was a research study released that shook me to my core, and made me wonder if what i have been working for in all my “rightness” (spaying/neutering dogs with my non-profit org) (as in this is the way to cure the evil in the world aka euthanizing of dogs in shelters) might actually have adverse effects on the health of dogs.

    Since reading it I’ve been in a bit of a contemplative chaotic state of being. I’ve been wondering if I really want a “simple” kind of life, and saving dogs one at a time, and being content with that, or really staying in the game and playing big, with potentially bigger consequences and bigger possibilities of adverse effects or wrongness.

    In essence, I’m not abandoning my life’s purpose but really it’s not easy once you figure it out either.

    You will know when you find your life’s purpose because you
    a) don’t have to motivate yourself to do it
    b) once you’re doing it all time stops and simultaneously flies by.
    c) you feel alive, creative, and invigorated. Ideas flow to you and through you, in abundance

    I also secretly believe you are already doing your life’s purpose, but maybe don’t recognize it. Documenting your travels and spiritual enfoldment. Sharing it with others. (also your beautiful necklaces, of which I want 100 of.) Now you just need to monetize it my dear.

    BTW big hugs for being brave enough to ask for people to give back to you and your donations button!

    PS Thanks for being an inspiration to us all. Thank The Universe for the interwebz.

    • lunasealife said

      Thank you Zia! Love it! And thanks for that Kris Carr article, it’s a great perspective.

      As you pointed out, my current focus is on how to support myself by being me and doing what I love via monetizing it. Authentic, focused, valuable expression that helps others and also opens the doors to being supported financially so I can continue to be free to do what I love. 🙂 I’m getting closer!!!

  2. Zia said

    Also. My favorite song when i was little was “This little light of mine. I’m gonna let it shine.” This quote reminded me of that

    Talents are valuable only if you use them. If you “hide your light under a basket,” the light doesn’t get to do what it was created to do. If you ignore or deny your talents, the world misses the blessing you were born to bring to it, and you miss the spiritual and material reward you deserve.” – Alan Cohen, ‘Trust Your Talent’

    I even got a tattoo to remind myself of it. It’s an antique candlestick and it says “Let it shine” As a reminder and inspiration to myself.

    • lunasealife said

      Amazing. I have tattoos sketched for my arms that I’ve wanted for a few years now… someday… 😉
      https://lunasealife.wordpress.com/2011/02/05/how-to-create-energy/

      • Zia said

        I forgot about that post! What a nice refresher.

        I would love to see the sketches! Share share. Scan and email them to me. I’m planning out two right now. I’ve been very careful and not chosen words up till now. I think I’m ready for two quotations. One is “Save One Until There’s None” and the other I’m not 100 percent decided on so i am not going to share yet. I’m thinking the top of my shoulders but I would love them on my arms however due to work and potential on air appearances I think i’m going to hold off more on the highly visible spots..but I would LOVE to see yours!

  3. aunt jody said

    Yes darling girl, thank you for keeping on. Some people are like the thunder, some are like the flowers recieving the rain and some are the ground dwellers.. All are in their glory. YOU are a breath of the sweetest fresh air, always have been, and you are being heard.

Leave a Reply

