Patagonia Mornings

April 20, 2012

The Chacra (little ranch) I live on is surrounded by small mountains/large hills, so there’s a nice hike in any direction you head in. Yesterday I decided to do a sunrise hike. I woke up at 6:30am and did Vipassana meditation for one hour, then bundled myself up (temperature’s in the 40’s F at night) and put my iPod, journal and Kindle into my bag.

I listened to a Philosopher’s Note on my iPod as I headed east, walking through the dry riverbed behind the house and past the Mapuche school. The Philosopher’s Note was on the book ‘The Power of Habit’ by Jack D. Hodge.

“It’s often said that habits are hard to break. This is an inaccurate statement. Habits aren’t broken; they are replaced. In other words, you replace, not erase, bad habits. This is an important distinction because if we are to change a bad habit we must carefully consider which habits we are to replace it with. Purposefully choosing new habits to replace old habits will greatly increase your chances of changing bad habits.”

So I decided to replace my habit of staying in my warm bed with taking a sunrise hike every morning. Until it starts snowing, at least.

The sun rises late here, a little after 8am, so I needed something to get me out of bed earlier – I like to get up at 6am but when it’s dark and cold out, I’m not very motivated to climb out of my Cocoon. (I literally sleep in a Cocoon, this awesome travel sheet/sleeping bag liner thing that my friend Anne gave me. It’s stretchy, so I close myself up in it to keep the mosquitos from biting my face; it’s much more comfortable than trying to keep myself covered with a normal stiff sheet all night!).

I hiked for about 30 minutes until I found a nice rock-topped hill to perch on. I wrote my three morning pages for ‘The Artist’s Way’; I read an entry from ‘A Daily Dose of Sanity’ by Alan Cohen as the earth tilted the sun into my eyes.

While I’m living here in the middle of natural beauty and space and fresh air, I’m going to make sure I get the most out of it!

I have more photos I want to share, but the crap internet connection would only allow me to upload this one; issues uploading photos has been my main delay on blogging lately. I’m hoping it’ll be easier for me to upload to a Flickr account; will keep you posted!

“Life is a fatal adventure. It can only have one end. So why not make it as far-ranging and free as possible.” – Alexander Eliot

4 Responses to “Patagonia Mornings”

  1. Shelli Stapp said

    Funny the first thing I thought when I read, “the crap internet connection,” was you are so incredibly fortunate that you even have an internet connection. I can be the first one to relate to travelling with all sorts of crap connections. It’s just funny that in the midst of your surroundings we as a whole have come to expect the www to be available, fast and everywhere. Do you think this should just be accepted or are we spoiled and ridiculous. Huh? Eeek. I hope this is not taken in a bad way..it just got me thinking. We have come to rely so much on it. But thats just how it is now right? or no? Eeek

    • lunasealife said

      I totally understand what you’re saying. What frustrates me is that people want to see pictures of where I am and I can’t share them. And I have some gorgeous pictures!!! 🙂 The first week here in Patagonia I stayed at a cabin with no electricity or wifi and it was lovely. I don’t mind being without, but it’s just frustrating when it’s suppose to work, and doesn’t!

  2. Shelli Stapp said

    ps. I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU ARE LIVING WHERE YOU ARE RIGHT NOW. Im really proud of you. You are a true example of living with purpose. I hope you know how difficult it is for 98% of the population to be as courageous and mindful as you are.You’re a real inspiration Michelle. Dan just stayed here the other night. He asked, “is Michelle still living here,” I loved being able to respond, “oh no, Michelle is living in the mountains of Argentina.” It was so awesome. 🙂 xxoo

    • lunasealife said

      Thank you hon!!! Still working on figuring out my purpose, but I too love that this is part of my story now. Thank you for always being so supportive and encouraging, I truly truly appreciate it. Big hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

