Day 9 Sugar-Free

February 22, 2012

Somewhere between Argentina and Uruguay, Jan 2012. Photo by Michelle Perry.

Along with giving up sugar (and, I just realized, all other intoxicants, ie coffee) I’ve decided to give up commitments, obligations, guilt and shame.

It’s been magical. Yesterday was one of the best days of my life.

More to come – I’m working on a couple of drafts simultaneously – but I had to share these quotes I found on a website that details how to live on a boat:

One of the most tragic things
I know about human nature
is that all of us tend to put off living.
We are all dreaming of some
magical rose garden over the horizon
instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming
outside our windows today.
– Dale Carnegie

I like to walk about among
the beautiful things that adorn the world;
but private wealth I should decline,
or any sort of personal possessions,
because they would take away my liberty.
– George Santayana

 

8 Responses to “Day 9 Sugar-Free”

  1. Zia said

    I wish my life was so fulfilling and happy, I honestly just don’t feel that way…

    I’ve got a case of the blecks….

    I’ve been doing yoga almost every other day though, and after yoga i feel more positive, I’ve gone down a notch on my belt, and I feel good about myself for exercising! So it’s not all bad. 🙂

    • lunasealife said

      That’s awesome you’re doing yoga! Are you doing other things you love? Have you been journaling or talking through what you’re going through? Or maybe you just need to make a decision to release something… ? Hope the blecks lifts soon. Experiment! xoxo

      • lunasealife said

        Also: What WOULD make your life feel fulfilling and happy? Make a list and read it every day! That’s one of the exercises that changed my life.

      • lunasealife said

        (Or maybe I should say, what do you THINK would make you fulfilled and happy – because I found that when I started getting those things, they didn’t actually make me happier – it’s an inside job; I had to figure out how to be happy first. Which means releasing, surrendering, going through the pain and coming out the other side, unfortunately… 😉 ).

  2. Julie W. said

    Good for you! I’m going yeast/sugar/gluten/dairy/nut free for 30-60 days, then incorporating some back in a little at a time. I got back a food sensitivity test and am using the recommendations. It’s my first time ever going yeast free which eliminates all sugar, even honey and other natural sweeteners. Wow, I feel great!! It’s only been 2 days (and I’m really trying to ween myself off coffee but it’s hard!) but so far, I’ve realized how much I do crave sweet things. It’s a nice feeling to know it’s there and that’s ok, and having the strength to let it pass. It’s empowering. You’re going to rock it!! (Again!)

    • Sugargirl said

      I’m happy to see that someone else is trying to eliminate sugar in their life. Sugar is everywhere! This is day 2 of my sugar detox. I’m doing ok but I’m still thinking about my friend sugar. I think I miss it.

      • lunasealife said

        I’ve quit sugar many times, but every time I do I get stronger and I recognized how much better I feel and look without it. Keep at it!!!

    • lunasealife said

      Wow Julie!!! You are going to be super-vibrant-healthy! That would be a next step for me. I’m eating all those things right now but actually feeling really good, so maybe I just don’t have the sensitivities you do… Keep me posted on how it goes! xoxo

Leave a Reply

