My Favorite Buenos Aires Writing Spot

October 27, 2011

On my first foray out into the city alone, I took the subway from Colegiales to Palermo and stumbled across the most adorable bookstore/cafe I have ever seen. Books filled wooden shelves and stretched from floor to high ceiling:

Books books books!

Encircled by the rows and rows of books is a partially covered/partially sunny little café with black and white tile floors, walls of all colors, rustic wooden tables and chairs, and free wifi. I’m currently typing this post up right here:

Colors and sunlight!

Since moving to Buenos Aires I’ve discovered (to my delight) that it’s a city of many bookshops, or ‘librerías’. The majority of them are quaintly independent, and many have cafés inside where you can peruse a book while sipping tea or Italian-quality espresso and munching chocolate croissants.

The lovely librería pictured here is called Libros del Pasaje, on Thames 1762 in Palermo Soho.

Stop by! You’ll find me firmly ensconced at a table, either tapping away on my Mac or reading one of my current books – “The Indie Band Survival Guide” or “La Vida Es Acción” by Krishnamurti or “Free Play: La Improvisación en La Vida y en El Arte” by Stephen Nachmanovitch.

Or, perhaps, reading this children’s book about Curious Little Bitches:

Potential title of my future autobiography?

 

 

4 Responses to “My Favorite Buenos Aires Writing Spot”

  1. D said

    “Bicho/a” is what I call all the Hondurans in my life. In Mexico it’s a bug, but in Honduras “bicho/a” & “guiro/a” are their words for guy/dude/girl/chick. In Mexico that’s usually “chavo/a” or “tipo/a.” Have you picked up enough Spanish to know what they use in Argentina? Che?

  2. Rosa said

    “Bicho/a” is what I call all the Hondurans in my life. In Mexico it’s a bug, but in Honduras “bicho/a” & “guiro/a” are their words for guy/dude/girl/chick. In Mexico that’s usually “chavo/a” or “tipo/a.” Have you picked up enough Spanish to know what they use in Argentina? Che?
    +1

  3. misty said

    You know what they say…curiosity killed the bitch.
    Looks like you’re having fun exploring your new city! XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

