First Days in Buenos Aires

October 17, 2011

I’m living in a peaceful neighborhood called Colegiales (which translates to ‘Schoolboys’) on a tree-lined street named Zapiola. I realized shortly after I arrived that the street I lived on in Florence, Italy, also began with the letter Z – Zanobi. Interesting.

Outside my front door.

Colegiales is about 15 minutes from the coolest/funkiest neighborhoods of Buenos Aires, Palermo (There are a bunch of sections of Palermo – Palermo Soho, Palermo Viejo, Palermo Queens, etc).

Comparing it to what I know, Buenos Aires seems a mix between Italy and Miami. A lot of the buildings have Italian and French influences. Many of the streets are adoquinato, cobblestone, paved with the rocks the ships from Spain brought with them to balance their hulls; they’d dump the rocks once they got here and fill them with Argentinian goods. It’s also got a certain tropical lushness that reminds me of Miami. There are fragrant trees and songbirds everywhere.

It’s taken me a bit of time to adjust, which now that I write it, I realize is totally normal, but I have some crazy standards for myself sometimes. One thing that helped is that my business partner and I have been doing yoga and meditating every morning when we wake up, and before going to bed, which I love. I’d arrived here with the beginnings of a cold, my body’s reaction to my ingesting too much alcohol/rich food/sugar before I left, but it’s almost gone now.

My first few days here it was raining, which put a bit of a damper on sightseeing. When the weather cleared up last Sunday we took the train about twenty minutes north of the city to La Lucila, where we met up with some friends and wandered down to the river.

I loved the colors of this building outside of the train station:

There are  a lot of talented graffiti artists here.

Here’s Buenos Aires from the river bank (it wasn’t quite as cold out as it looked):

 

There were many sailboats out, and I immediately began scheming to figure out how to get out on one:

A man with all he needs – his guitar, his dog, and his motorcycle – down by the river:

Then some friends joined us at the riverbank for Acroyoga:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then, we went for helado, which I’m not eating right now (no sugar or dairy), so I just took lots of pictures.

 

I’ve heard from various sources that the helado here in Argentina rivals the gelato of Italy. I’ll have to corroborate this before I leave the country.

Something I’ve never seen in Italy is a two-foot-tall ice cream cone. I don’t quite understand the physics, but at this shop the guys would turn the cone upside down and sculpt a kind of helado stalactite, and then dip it in chocolate. Like a high-class Foster Freeze cone.

Another thing I’ll have to try is the famous Dulce de Leche:

 

 

Next post, more photos of the city and my new favorite coffee shop/book store!

3 Responses to “First Days in Buenos Aires”

  1. When my husband and I traveled to Thailand in 2008, I was at the most balanced parts of my life. I was doing yoga 5 days a week, exercising regularly and eating very well. Even so, it took a solid 2 weeks out of our month long backpacking trip to be totally acclimated and feel like I was doing ok on every level. I totally understand. I was jet lagged for a few days and didn’t understand why I wasn’t feeling ok, then I was over stimulated with the sights and sounds of Bangkok then non stop travel every few days. But you’re totally right, we have these high standards for ourselves, but you’re doing all the right things- yoga, meditation, slowing down, taking it in, listening to yourself! Btw, some of your pictures on this post are coming up w/ the broken pic icon…don’t know if it’s just my end or they didn’t upload right. 🙂

  2. lunasealife said

    Thanks for the heads-up – I think I fixed them!

    I haven’t mentioned it yet, but I’m on day 11 of no sugar/dairy/meat/alcohol!!! Woohoo! 🙂

  3. rubenad said

    Buenos Aires is beautiful, I studied art direction, la costanera was one of my favorites places to study and worked two years in a virtual store http://www.bsas4u.com then i visited the best places in town that makes you want to get to live forever, I miss walk on the streets… hope back soon, have fun!

Leave a Reply

