The Terror, The Wonder

October 13, 2011

I promise, I have pictures and a draft consisting of emails cobbled together describing Buenos Aires… But I was busy all day today ‘playing’, which used to mean ‘working’, but I’ve decided I will never ‘work’ another day in my life – it’s all ‘divine play’ from here on out!

I suppose I should explain that in a future blog…

Anyways, I’ll share my adventures soon!

For tonight, some amazing Carlos Castaneda quotes I’ve re-discovered:

“The aim is to balance the terror of being alive with the wonder of being alive.”

“A man of knowledge lives by acting, not by thinking about acting. ”

“In a world where death is the hunter, my friend, there is no time for regrets or doubts. There is only time for decisions.”

“To seek freedom is the only driving force I know. Freedom to fly off into that infinity out there. Freedom to dissolve; to lift off; to be like the flame of a candle, which, in spite of being up against the light of a billion stars, remains intact, because it never pretended to be more than what it is: a mere candle.”

“Only as a warrior can one withstand the path of knowledge. A warrior cannot complain or regret anything. His life is an endless challenge, and challenges cannot possibly be good or bad. Challenges are simply challenges.”

“We hardly ever realize that we can cut anything out of our lives, anytime, in the blink of an eye.”

“Think about it: what weakens us is feeling offended by the deeds and misdeeds of our fellow men. Our self-importance requires that we spend most of our lives offended by someone.”

“Death is the only wise advisor that we have. Whenever you feel, as you always do, that everything is going wrong and you’re about to be annihilated, turn to your death and ask if that is so. Your death will tell you that you’re wrong; that nothing really matters outside its touch. Your death will tell you, ‘I haven’t touched you yet.”

“To ask me to verify my life by giving you my statistics is like using science to validate sorcery. It robs the world of its magic and makes milestones out of us all.”

“A warrior, or any man for that matter, cannot possibly wish he were somewhere else; a warrior because he lives by challenge, an ordinary man because he doesn’t know where his death is going to find him.”

“For me the world is weird because it is stupendous, awesome, mysterious, unfathomable; my interest has been to convince you that you must assume responsibility for being here, in this marvelous world, in this marvelous desert, in this marvelous time. I want to convince you that you must learn to make every act count, since you are going to be here for only a short while, in fact, too short for witnessing all the marvels of it.”

 

All quotes by Carlos Castaneda. Read his books.

Leave a Reply

