New Shel Silverstein Poems

September 20, 2011

A new collection of Shel Silverstein’s unpublished poetry has just been released. Here’s one of the new poems, which of course I love, considering the subject matter:

Italian Food

Oh, how I love Italian food.
I eat it all the time,
Not just ’cause how good it tastes
But ’cause how good it rhymes.
Minestrone, cannelloni,
Macaroni, rigatoni,
Spaghettini, scallopini,
Escarole, braciole,
Insalata, cremolata, manicotti,
Marinara, carbonara,
Shrimp francese, Bolognese,
Ravioli, mostaccioli,
Mozzarella, tagliatelle,
Fried zucchini, rollatini,
Fettuccine, green linguine,
Tortellini, Tetrazzini,
Oops—I think I split my jeani.

 

And a quick google search turned up this video of Shel performing Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me Too, a simple poem that takes the listener through the emotional gamut, from exhilaration to melancholy:

 

I can’t begin to quantify what an influence this man had on me – I read and re-read his books of poems literally hundreds of times. I had cassette tapes of him reading them aloud that I listened to until they warped. It’s incredible how well-connected he was to his inner child. If I ever have kids, his books will definitely be in their library.

4 Responses to “New Shel Silverstein Poems”

  1. simone said

    I love Shel Silverstein.

  2. Just released. the great Shel Silverstein is doing it again……. and this time,food poems! here is one on Italian food… love it!!

  3. My favorite from when I was a kid:

    Afraid of the Dark

    I’m Reginald Clark, I’m afraid of he dark
    So I always insist on the light on,
    And my teddy to hug,
    And my blanket to rub,
    And my thumby to suck or to bite on.
    And three bedtime stories,
    Two trips to the toilet,
    Two prayers, and five hugs from my mommy,
    I’m Reginald Clark, I’m afraid from the dark
    So please do not close this book on me.

    My Mom used to read this to me in a very animated way:

    Someone Ate the Baby

    Someone ate the baby it’s rather sad to say
    Someone ate the baby so she won’t be out to play
    We’ll never hear her whiny cry
    or have to feel if she is dry
    We’ll never hear her asking, “Why, why, why?”
    Someone ate the baby

    Someone ate the baby it’s absolutely clear
    Someone ate the baby ’cause the baby isn’t here
    We’ll give away her toys and clothes
    We’ll never have to wipe her nose
    Dad says, “That’s the way it goes.”
    Someone ate the baby

    Someone ate the baby, what a frightful thing to eat
    Someone ate the baby, though she wasn’t very sweet
    It was a heartless thing to do
    The policemen haven’t got a clue
    I simply can’t imagine who would go and (burp) eat the baby

  4. D said

    Did you hear the story about this on NPR? They had a fun reading of the Italian food poem.

    http://www.npr.org/2011/09/20/140566486/shel-silversteins-poems-live-on-in-every-thing

Leave a Reply

