Goodbye, Los Angeles!

August 4, 2011

I’m sitting in the Burbank airport, across from the brightly lit, magazine-and-candy stuffed NBC-sponsored gift shop. A Hollywood souvenier T-shirt says “No Autographs Please.” Jason Alexander Lee (Lee Alexander?) ie George of Seinfeld waddled by a few minutes ago, baseball-capped and sunglassed. Two blondish, lanky tweens are sprawled on the floor across from me with three guitars in cases. Those must be expensive instruments – after googling the carry-on rules last night I learned that you have to buy an instrument its own seat. One mom, two tweens, three guitars – A family band, perhaps? Now a woman runs past barefoot, carrying the same pair of Vibram FiveFingers that I’m wearing. Pretty good people watching.

I meant to take a photo of what I’m bringing with me cross-country and cross-continent, but it slipped my mind as I wondered whether my giant rolling bag would make the 50lb weight limit for free bags. It didn’t. 53lbs. I took out my shoes and some spices (we’ll be cooking while camping) and got it down to 49.5lbs. Whew! So, I’ve got a big orange rolling bag, a smaller pink carry-on, a small black duffel & a small backpack that’s acting as my laptop bag/purse. These bags contain almost my entire wardrobe (I shipped 1 box of clothes to DC), all my shoes (5 pair Vibrams, 1 pair flip flops, 1 pair sneakers, 1 pair fancy flip flops) my jewelry supplies & tools, some books & journals (also shipped a box of books), laptop, kindle, iPod, camera, toiletries & cooking supplies. OH and a sleeping bag, a tent, and my yoga mat!!!

I still feel I have too much stuff; I’m planning to pare down along the way. Less stuff = less stress/energy (packing, lugging, organizing, etc) & less money.

I want a simpler life! And I’m getting there. Sold my car this morning; that’s one debt, one responsibility off my back. The company I sold it to gives you a free shuttle home – the guy who drove me to the airport is a Venezuelan architect. He took two years off from the family biz to live in LA and learn english. He was very excited about my move to Argentina. As most people are. Some, though, ask if I’m scared. To be totally honest, I’m not. What I am is incredibly excited. Living in Italy was one of the best times of my life – I thrive on the stimulation of a new country, with a new languge and culture to figure out.

I need to find something to eat before we board – I’m on day 5 of no sugar or dairy!!! My skin is looking better already. We’ll see how long I can keep this up while traveling. Also, my thumbs are getting fatigued from typing this whole blog entry on my Droid. 🙂

Oh and before I forget – I LOVE YOU LA!!! I love all your amazing people, your varied landscapes, your endless options of interesting passtimes, your ocean shores. I’ll miss all the incredible friendships I’ve cultivated here. But who knows, maybe I’ll be back in the fall. 😉

I doubt it.

12 Responses to “Goodbye, Los Angeles!”

  1. Erika A said

    Bon voyage my dearest. I send you all my best intentions and blessings on the great journey before you.

    Keep the blogs a-coming.

    besote y abrazo fuerte,
    Erika

    • lunasealife said

      Thanks lover! So grateful for you, one of my oldest LA friends… damn, you ARE my oldest LA friend, next to Chrissy, who JUST moved back – and I didn’t get to see her!

      I’ll miss dining with you. I’ll do a special blog on some amazing Argentinian restaurant, just for you. Maybe I’ll find me a Chilean waiter… x

  2. hoang said

    Have a blast!

  3. Who did you sell your car to? Can you give me the information (here or via email)? Inquiring reforming-consumers want to know!

  4. Oh and, what a relief for you! So great!

  5. No, moving again. But yeah, gonna bike, walk, and bus it.

  6. You’re such a good friend, Michelle. I love you.

  7. lunasealife said

    Aww, thanks hon! I appreciate it. Love you too.

Leave a Reply

