Facebook Founder Slaughters Animals

May 31, 2011

And I think it’s awesome!

I don’t much care about Marc Zuckerberg. I have some issues with Facebook. I didn’t see The Social Network.

But reading this article gave me a newfound respect for Zuckerberg. He does challenges, just like me! This year he’s only eating meat that he’s killed himself – lobster, chicken, and goats so far. While I haven’t taken on the kill-your-own-animals challenge, I wouldn’t be opposed to it, since I do want to live on my own sustainable farm someday, and I also think that the healthiest way of living is for people to be physically connected to their food sources. Here’s a quote from Zuckerberg:

A bunch of people told me that even though they loved eating pork, they really didn’t want to think about the fact that the pig used to be alive. That just seemed irresponsible to me. I don’t have an issue with anything people choose to eat, but I do think they should take responsibility and be thankful for what they eat rather than trying to ignore where it came from.

 

My thoughts exactly. Be a carnivore, be a vegetarian, be a vegan, but be aware of the reality of your choices, and make them consciously.

5 Responses to “Facebook Founder Slaughters Animals”

  1. Shawnté said

    I read about this, too, and I think it’s great that he’s not just thinking about this and doing this, but talking about doing it. I know that if it was me, I would be relegated to seafood, both out of skill and squeamishness, and that’s an interesting thing to confront – the reality that I AM, indeed, super far removed from my food, at least when it comes to animal proteins. Then again, I only cook seafood at home, with an occasional chicken breast maybe once a month, so maybe I COULD do it! Interesting to think about, all the same.

  2. lunasealife said

    Agreed! I think the awareness of and connection to what you’re eating, via killing, is what makes all the difference; I imagine it makes one so much more grateful for that meat, and gratitude is scientifically proven to be the best way to make us happier.

    BTW, I totally think you could do it, if you wanted to. You’re a badass mountain woman, don’t forget! 😉

  3. massimo said

    I think it was just an advertising manouevre. And not even a responsible one. Maybe even made up.

  4. massimo said

    In my opinion advertising can never stop. It is its nature. Especially now that Zuckerberg is strutting into wall street

    btw, I don’t have facebook

Leave a Reply

