Liberated From My Day Job!

May 23, 2011

Just after returning from vacation in Miami Beach, and three days before my 32nd birthday, I was liberated from my day job.

The layoff wasn’t a total surprise. Rumors of our boss running out of money for the two start-ups I worked for had been circulating for the past year.

Oddly enough, when I got the news, I wasn’t upset. I wasn’t afraid. I was EXCITED. I had a fat tax return coming, and a number of my friends had been living happily on f-unemployment for quite some time.  I’d been at my job for three years and it was time for me to move on.

That was two months ago. I’ve spent the last eight weeks figuring out what, exactly, I REALLY want to do with my life. During this time I’ve realized I’d never truly had a stretch of time to think about what *I* wanted, unencumbered by all the shoulds and ought-tos and obligations to others and stress to cover the bills. Unemployment is wonderful! It also helps that I now have a much better grasp on who I am and what makes me happy.

So, I have decided to start up two companies of MY OWN:

1. Plus the Wind, an iPhone app company I’d already been planning on forming with my friend and business partner Jonas prior to the liberation; and

2. Stones with Soul, the jewelry company I’ve been thinking and talking about getting off the ground for, oh, EIGHT or so years… 🙂

And a third thing that I’ve been focusing on is yoga. Back in January of this year, people started randomly asking me if I’d ever thought about being a yoga instructor. I hadn’t really, at least not seriously. And then synchronicity struck – I saw a poster on the wall at my favorite yoga studio, Bhakti Yoga Shala, advertising a three-month yoga instructor training program that was beginning April 1st. I signed up for it before I found out I’d be laid off, just for the hell of it. Coincidence?

There are no coincidences.

So, these last two months, I’ve been scheming, sorting, clarifying. I’ve been making jewelry, I’ve been practicing yoga and learning how to teach it; I’ve been sailing and hiking and cooking and singing and chanting; I’ve been meditating on the beach, hitting LA’s farmer’s markets, reading the unending river of books that flow through my life. And I’ve been letting go of obligations that don’t align with what I love. I’ve decided that it’s time to create my ideal life.

These last two months it’s become clear that my fears and self-imposed limitations are the only things holding me back. Luckily I have some amazingly supportive and conscious people who’ve got my back and who are helping me move beyond those fears and limits.

I’m incredibly excited to see what happens next. I’m ready for freedom, I’m ready for adventure, and I plan to take you along with me!

Wind In My Sails. Photo by me, May 2011.

2 Responses to “Liberated From My Day Job!”

  1. NoemiR said

    So admirable!

    “no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dream.”
    -Paulo Coelho

Leave a Reply

