Liberate yourself from Soap and Shampoo!

February 16, 2011

How open-minded are you? How willing are you to challenge society’s norms? How willing are you to experiment with your life? How willing are you to ask WHY?

Shampoo strips your hair of its oils.

Conditioner puts (fake, chemical) oils back.

Face cleansers strip your face of its oils.

Lotion puts (fake, chemical) oils back.

Why not just stop the cycle?

Check this out: A man named Richard Nikoley has gone almost two years without using soap or shampoo when showering.

I fuckin’ LOVE people who challenge conventional beliefs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Note: he still uses soap to wash his hands after the restroom and when handling food).

A year or two ago I was researching all the potentially/probably horrible chemicals in our soaps/shampoos/cosmetics when  I ran across some articles about using baking soda to clean your hair.

The idea appealed to me. I believe that our bodies are a naturally regulating system, like every other ecosystem. No other animals use soap and shampoo; why must we?

Does this idea scare you? Make you angry? Ask yourself why.

People are often afraid of new ideas.

People who challenge conventional belief are almost always ridiculed – until it turns out that what they’re saying is true. Galileo is the prime poster boy of this truth.

Our society thinks that we can improve on nature.  I just don’t buy it. There is ALWAYS an equal and opposite reaction. There is always a side effect, always an unintended consequence.  Cause/effect, good/evil, light/dark, yin/yang. Everything is inter-related, and Balance is a Universal law. When there is an issue,  rather than dealing with underlying internal imbalances, our society likes to treat symptoms from the outside. This is never sustainable.

Back to the shampoo.

Another guy who tried going without is Sean Bonner:

The thing that stuck out to me the most, and resonated with my own philosophy was that it seemed silly that we would have evolved into creatures that needed a bunch of corporately produced and marketed chemicals smeared all over our bodies everyday just to get by.

As I was reading this article I started thinking that the only reason I was using soap was because I’d always done it and had always been told I needed to. I’d never questioned it, but now that I was questioning it I wasn’t coming up with very convincing answers. Maybe these chemicals were messing whith my body’s own chemistry and creating the need for themselves?

And here’s a poignant comment that a reader left on Nikoley‘s blog:

For the most part of what i’ve read of these comments, it seems that no-one has yet addressed that a persons state of health and diet is the major contributer to body odours. You can be a person that bathes, shampoos and deodorises regularly but still stink offensively to high heaven from poor food choices, lack of fruit and veg, too much processed junk and the degenerative diseases developed. On the other hand, you can be a person who is physically active on a daily basis, eats only fresh food, lightly cooked meats and seafoods, avoids grain foods (because we are NOT birds) and smell perfectly fine from not using cosmetics and soaps, etc. To determine/decide if another potential mates’ odour was offensive or not is one of many important evolutionary ‘tools’ to ensure that humans mated with other humans who were in good health with good genes. Cosmetics were originally developed to mask a persons poor health, rather than making the effort to improve their health (more like ignorance in the face of decadence). We almighty Human Beings forget that we are just another animal on this planet, and how many of them (animals) do you see using processed foods, soaps and clothing? Compare the health of a chimpanzee (our closest biological relative) to most humans, these chimps are much better off than we are without our modern vices. We apply chemicals to our skin, eat food from sources that are not digestable in their natural state, technology that does all our moving/movement for us, yet still have it in our heads that we are ‘smarter’ than other living organisms on this planet. Our sense of ‘smart’ seems like a hell of a lot of ‘stupid’ to me. If our animal friends shared the same voice and could point and laugh, we would never hear the end of it, except we are HARMING THEM in all these processes.

All of the guys who tried this and blogged about it found that their hair and skin were SOFTER and less dry than before. They also said their wives and girlfriends said they smelled good, or better. Sean Bonner wrote an updated after a year of living free.

I didn’t stink at all (confirmed by friends, family and random people I ended up sitting next to on various forms of public transit), my skin felt better, oily and dry patches had all but disappeared and the light dandruff I’d had my entire life was almost gone. I was pleased with the results of my month experiment and decided I’d run with it for a while longer. As of January 1, 2011: it’s been a year now, and I can’t imagine ever going back.

And speaking of hair, that was actually a perfect test. Sometime mid-summer I stopped by a barber and before I’d realized it he’d squirted a glob of shampoo onto my head. It was too late to protest, so I just sat through the scrubbing. For the following 2 weeks my hair was a mess: full of dandruff and totally uncontrollable. Once things balanced back out to the previously established no-soap norms, all was good again.

Unexpected bonus: travel is much easier. Now that I’m not lugging shampoo and conditioner with me on the road, there’s that much less for TSA to hassle me about.

 

I love experimenting with my life and my reality, as you can probably tell by the subject matter of much of my blog. And since I’m not dating or sleeping with anyone right now anyways, I might try this out!

Luckily I have a lot of hats in case I need to hide my hair at work during the first two weeks…

Do not believe in anything simply because you have heard it.

Do not believe in anything simply because it is spoken and rumored by many.

Do not believe in anything simply because it is found written in your religious books.

Do not believe in anything merely on the authority of your teachers and elders.

Do not believe in traditions because they have been handed down for many generations.

But after observation and analysis, when you find that anything agrees with reason and is conducive to the good and benefit of one and all, then accept it and live up to it.

-Buddha

‎No man can trade upon the knowledge of another person, simply because the only knowledge which we can use with certainty is that knowledge which we have acquired through personal experience.

-Theun Mares

6 Responses to “Liberate yourself from Soap and Shampoo!”

  1. Zia said

    You’ve got me completely intrigued. This is a topic that has been floating around in my brain over and over for the past year…I would love to know how the experiment turns out. So the deal is you won’t “wash” your hair, but instead brush baking soda through it?

    I love this: “Shampoo strips your hair of its oils.

    Conditioner puts (fake, chemical) oils back.

    Face cleansers strip your face of its oils.

    Lotion puts (fake, chemical) oils back.

    Why not just stop the cycle?”

    • lunasealife said

      Sorry it took so long to respond!
      Actually these people don’t use baking soda either, just water & your head’s natural oils. I’ve used baking soda to cut oil, & I know some people wash w baking soda also.

      Oh on a side note I no longer use lotion or eye cream – I use olive oil!!! My skin looks great!

  2. Julie said

    Oh MY GOD! This is so crazy you posted this. My husband decided to try this experiment two months ago. He eats pretty well, no wheat, dairy, eggs, or corn. He eats vegetables and meat and some rice and tries to limit his sugar. He searched far and wide for other people on the internet that have done the same thing. You guys have probably found the same resources.

    Honestly, I was pretty pissed when he decided to do it. He didn’t really account for my feelings regarding it, especially that I knew I was going to be disgusted to touch him for awhile (and I TOLD him this) We got into two really big fights over it.

    His head is shaved and he was only using Dr. Bronner’s on it for years, so the oiliness of his scalp wasn’t an issue when he started it. He wanted to try it mainly because his skin has gotten so dry since we’ve moved to Arizona.

    He stunk for the first solid month. It wasn’t knock-you-over stinky but he got ripe by the end of the day, kind of like that old BO smell that a homeless person gets. It was weird. I was thoroughly grossed out. It was annoying to hug him and be close. He couldn’t understand why I was so mad. He thought I’d be totally into it given both our alternative ways and wacky experiments. Needless to say we had a few discussions over MY needs vs. his needs and that I was the one that has to suffer through the BO. He could easily dismiss it & didn’t care if he smelled.

    It finally culminated in the last fight where I said he needed to wash under his arms and down there (which he was only doing every other day to every 3rd day) and that the stink (after 2 months) was not getting much better. He finally apologized and said he was stupid for not listening to me in the 1st place. Men have selective hearing, I swear.

    I wouldn’t have had any problem with it had he come to me and asked about my feelings about it instead of just doing it and not listening to my concerns. I don’t have a problem with him not washing the rest of himself. He was only mildly oily for the first few days but his skin evened out. You may do better with it considering you’re eating cleaner.

    Overall, I think it was a good experiment. He’s happy he did it. His skin IS much softer and his face isn’t oily at all. He does wash his hands after he uses the restroom obviously, he didn’t want to not do that.

    • lunasealife said

      Julie! Sorry it took me a month and 1/2 to respond. 😉 Thank you for sharing this story!!! I agree, your feelings should be taken into account in a marriage! 😉 Interesting to hear in the end that it worked for him. I still haven’t taken the plunge…I keep having social events come up. LOL

  3. Interesting. Someone asked about the baking soda mentioned, and I am also curious about that detail. Is it brushed through the hair dry, or is used with water?

    • lunasealife said

      I’ve put baking soda in my hair to cut oil if I didn’t feel like washing it. But I think I’ve read some people use it with water too! Try googling around.

Leave a Reply

