New Challenge – Limit Internet

February 11, 2011

I’m trying out a new challenge today.

I’m only going to check email/facebook/twitter twice today; once at noon, and once after I get home from work.

I find myself compulsively checking those three throughout the day for a sense of connection and validation. Mini pick-me-ups, mini mood-boosters.

I don’t want to rely on technology for that. I want to control technology; I don’t want it to control my mood.

I may do the same with my cell phone – just shut it off 90% of the time, and have a specific time that I turn it on and check messages and respond. I seek (and receive) that same sense of validation/connection from text messages.

I’m tired of being dependent, and I’m tired of being distracted. I want to channel my energy purposefully. I want to DO things that will make me happy long-term, rather than RECEIVE things that distract me from my dissatisfaction in the short-term. I want to push my personal boundaries of clarity and progress towards my goals.

I’m excited to conduct this experiment with my life and see how it goes. This morning I did not get online and spend my usual 45ish minutes checking email/FB/Twitter. Instead I wrote my Three Morning Pages, meditated, took a walk around my neighborhood while listening to Philosophers Notes, watered the spinach I’m growing in the backyard, did some yoga, and ate breakfast with my roommate. I can tell this is going to be a great day.

Feel free to join me in my experiment and let me know how it goes for you!

8 Responses to “New Challenge – Limit Internet”

  1. Sacha said

    Brilliant idea. I really need do that. I’d save so much time…

    I’ll let you know how I get on. Best get started by removing them from my home page selection!

  2. This sounds like a good decision for you.

  3. This sounds difficult – but good! Thanks for the idea.

  4. D said

    Glad your new challenge has already given you good results.

    There’s a Portlandia skit about this that I think is very true, but you have to use the Internet to see it… Sorry.

    • lunasealife said

      I’m still using the internet, just limiting myself! 😉

      So funny you posted this, for two reasons:
      1. I’ve wanted to live in Portland since I was 8, and
      2. A friend JUST emailed me about how much she loves this show.

      I totally relate to this clip! Ha!

      Thanks!!!

  5. D said

    I think I’m the friend mentioned in #2, unless you have two such friends 🙂

    Glad you liked the clip. I’ve definitely caught myself in that kind of loop at times.

Leave a Reply

