Morning Rituals

January 27, 2011

I’ve been working on forming my Morning Rituals for 2011. Haven’t figured out the best order yet, but here’s pretty much what I do every morning when I wake up:

Make my bed.

Touch my toes  & twist ten times (per the counsel of my Ayurvedic doctor).

Brush my teeth.

Make Roastaroma tea (my caffeine-free coffee substitute; add hemp milk & cinnamon).

Writing: Three Morning Pages Exercise from The Artist’s Way, Appreciation List, How I’d spend $1,000 if I had to spend $1,000 per day.

Meditation: Guided Meditation from Abraham-Hick’s Getting into the VortexBlissitations by Alexandra Jaye Johnson, silent meditation for 15 minutes (with my Just Sit Android app), Money Chant.

Toe Yoga.

30 Minutes of running (training for my first half marathon in May) or walking.

Listen to a Philosopher’s Notes while eating breakfast (fruit & nuts).

Review my Budget/Money Energy List and my “Live Free and Clear” snowball list (I’ve sworn not to use the d**t word).

As you can imagine, I have to get up pretty early to get all this done before 9:30am (luckily I don’t have to be to work til 10amish). I haven’t quite fixed a wake-up time yet – I’ve been getting up whenever my body wants to wake up, which (this week) has ranged between 4:43am and 6:23 am. (I haven’t been getting to bed as consistently early as I would like to).

Today I shook things up a little. I decided to start my morning at the beach.

I found a free spot a block from the beach. Thank you, parking gods!

It was sunny and gorgeous. Not too cold, not too breezy.

I did my meditations and my writing exercises.

I realized that the sound of waves crashing is almost indistinguishable from the sound of thunder rolling.

A ladybug landed on me and stayed awhile:

Which reminded me that I wrote a blog post about the symbolism of Ladybugs on my other blog, amicamore.com, about 6 months ago. According to lore, I should be meeting my true love in about 2 months (if the ladybug did its job; and assuming the ladybug didn’t take a plane instead of flying all the way. Which she may have, so it’s possible I’ve already met him. Or maybe it’s the same ladybug coming back to tell me that *I* am my own true love…).

As I concluded in that blog, either way it doesn’t really matter, since I’m over here, enjoying myself.

Let It Go, Let It Flow...

Row Row Row Your Boat

Gently Down The Stream…

Merrily, Merrily Merrily, Merrily

Life Is But A Dream.

 

 

6 Responses to “Morning Rituals”

  1. Shannon said

    Love your posts….and the pics u took are amazing! 🙂

  2. Zia said

    It sounds like you have a full 8 hour day, before you even go to work! Wild girl! I am pretty lethargic in the morning and it takes effort to get out of bed. My new goal is to start walking the dogs 1/2 hour before work, and start journal’ing the 3 pages. As per your suggestion.

    You amaze me, I have no idea how you get all that done!

    • lunasealife said

      You know what’s weird? The more I meditate, the more time I seem to have…

      Getting clear and saying NO to a lot of stuff helps too.

      I’m focusing right now on simplifying my life and getting rid of clutter. Then I’ll have even MORE time!!! I’m so excited!!! : D

      I think as you start doing things that inspire you, like walking the dogs and writing, it’s gonna make it easier to get up. 🙂 I used to use the snooze button…now I’m excited to get the day started because I’m doing things I love.

Leave a Reply

