Sautéed Cinnamon-Nutmeg Apples with Chopped Almonds

January 18, 2011

 

Oh. My. God, I am eating the most delicious fucking breakfast ever.


image

 

That’s right, I said fucking. It’s fucking good. I’ve decided to cuss on my blog, when appropriate, for emphasis, cuz I do it in real life. I guess I won’t ever make the WordPress “Freshly Pressed” page now, but I don’t fucking care. This breakfast was that fucking good.


As some of you know, I’ve been doing a crazy No Intoxicants/Refined Sugar/Dairy/Red Meat cleanse since the begining of this amazing year.


I had been eating apples and almond butter for breakfast for quite some time now, but the other day I decided to take it up a notch. Spice things up.


I decided to cook my apples.


I’m not a raw foodist. For me, raw foods aren’t that great. My stomach has a hard time digesting them. My Ayurvedic doctor told me to cook all myfoods. And then I read an article from NPR about how cooking foods gave humans an evolutionary edge – as did eating meat, though I personally think our society has distorted “cooking” food into an unhealthy “processing” of food, and had taken occasional meat consumption and turned it into a over-emphasized base for health.


Anyways! I sauteed my apples! Try it!

-Chop unpeeled apples into little cubes

-Heat butter in a pan on medium heat

-Toss apple into butter and sprinkle heaps of cinnamon and nutmeg on

top

-Throw some almonds in the pan too (I slap-chopped some raw almonds – thanks Shelli! – but you can also use almond butter, though if you’re doing almond butter I’d wait until you add some liquid to mix it in)

-Sauté apples for 5 minute or so, until they start to soften/turn yellow (if you can see them under all the cinnamon & nutmeg)

-Add a liquid of your choice – I use hemp milk now because it has the most bang for the buck between soy, almond, and rice milk (and soy milk’s not that great for you anyways) and turn the heat down or off

-[Stir in some almond butter now if you’re going that route]

-Chop up some dates and throw them in too


Then EAT IT! SOOO good!!!


I know people think that now that I’ve limited my diet, all I’m doing is gnawing on carrots. But when you start experimenting with the sugar-free, dairy-free, gluten free stuff that’s available (aka from Mother Nature’s cupboard), there are INFINITE POSSIBILITIES of the yummyness you can create. It’s time to eat outside the box.

6 Responses to “Sautéed Cinnamon-Nutmeg Apples with Chopped Almonds”

  1. MISTY said

    sounds yummy Michelle!!!
    Maybe now that my commute is 5 minutes I’ll have time to make breakfast….Or I’ll just sleep in later 🙂

    • lunasealife said

      It was nommy! I want to try making a pretend-chocolate pudding with dates, figs and almond butter…

      Maybe I can come over for dinner at the new place sometime soon!

  2. Valinda said

    Not sure if that restricted diet of yours includes alcohol restrictions, but we make a similar dish as a topping for pancakes, but add a little bourbon to the mix. Mmmmmm.

  3. Lauren said

    I’m totally going to make this! Thanks!

  4. […] Listen to a Philosopher’s Notes while eating breakfast (fruit & nuts). […]

Leave a Reply

