Something Different for New Year’s Eve

December 30, 2010

Years ago I found out that my friend Louis meditates every New Year’s Eve. At the time it was a foreign concept to me; everyone I knew spent the midnight shift with tons of booze, loud music and friends.

Now that I’ve been meditating (almost) every day for a year, I’m ready to try something different on New Year’s Eve. They say if you don’t try doing things differently, things will never change.  The wise “They” also say that making your bed in the morning sets the tone for the day; maybe meditating through the first moments of the year will set the tone for my year. I want it to be a centered, mindful year in which I stay connected to what I know to be true for myself. And the best way I’ve found to get to (and stay in) that place is through meditation.

I’ve found a few options:
1. Self Realization Lake Shrine NYE Meditation 

2. Bhakti Yoga Shala Kirtan Celebration

3. Against the Stream Buddhist Intention Setting

All of these sound pretty good, but none of them resonate with me 100%. I haven’t yet found  a group that I feel expresses what I believe 100%. The Self Realization Fellowship is a little too subdued & churchy, and though I love the setting I don’t agree with all of their teachings. Against the Stream is a little too Buddhist – I don’t agree with all of their teachings either. Bhakti’s a little too hippy, though their general beliefs and modes of teaching are more aligned with what jibes with me (jives with me?). Which would be…doing yoga and dancing on a sailboat (or in a treehouse) and listening to Abraham/Joseph Campbell. Where are those people?!

Of course, I haven’t yet finished my massive manifesto/blog post detailing exactly what I believe…that’s a monster project that I should make a goal to finish by Jan 31st 2011. Ok,  I just did. (I also just realized the “irony” of it being called a MANIFESTO – you manifest your reality via your manifesto, the beliefs you carry which end up creating your reality…hmmm…….).

On the first day of the New Year I’ll be joining Shine Activist China for a sunrise meditation and chanting on the beach in Malibu – now that sounds amazing. Though, again, I’m not huge on chanting yet.

I’m incredibly excited for 2011. In many ways, 2010 was the best year of my life. Until this new year, of course.

“If you do follow your bliss, you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while waiting for you, and the life you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss, and they open the doors to you. I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be. If you follow your bliss, doors will open for you that wouldn’t have opened for anyone else.”

– Joseph Campbell

8 Responses to “Something Different for New Year’s Eve”

  1. There is also the sunrise ceremony with my Osho.
    We meet at a beach in Malibu for the first sunrise of the year and get our meditation and chant on!

    http://www.zenyoga.org

  2. richard said

    Hi! Can you please tell me where / when the Malibu sunrise meditation will be? Thanks!

    • lunasealife said

      Saturday, January 1, 2011
      5:45 a.m.
      Meet at the temple, then proceed for First Sunrise Worship and Chanting at Malibu Beach. Please come and join us for the first sunrise of the year. If you wish to meet us there, please call for directions.
      Kanzeonji Non-Sectarian Buddhist Temple
      Siva Ashram Yoga Center
      951 Terrace 49
      Los Angeles, CA 90042
      323-255-5345

  3. There is also the sunrise ceremony with my Osho.
    We meet at a beach in Malibu for the first sunrise of the year and get our meditation and chant on!

  4. lunasealife said

    Yes, I think if you call 323-255-5345 they will tell you where to meet at the beach.

  5. […] didn’t actually go to any of the meditation options I’d been considering for midnight. Instead I strolled home in the cold after dinner, and […]

Leave a Reply

