Lush Face

December 13, 2010

I have a new favorite thing:  the “Angels on Bare Skin” facial cleanser from LUSH.

Over the past 6 months I’ve been trying to get rid of any soaps/shampoos/lotions/cosmetics with harmful (or potentially harmful) chemical ingredients. Check out my Don’t Eat the Lotion! post for details on the carcinogens and hormone disruptors found in pretty much every conventional bath and body product.

LUSH sells all kinds of natural and incredible-smelling products. Here’s what LUSH believes:

We believe in making effective products from fresh, organic* fruit and vegetables, the finest essential oils and safe synthetics.

We invent our own products and fragrances. We make them fresh by hand using little or no preservative or packaging, using only vegetarian ingredients, and tell you when they were made.

We believe in buying ingredients only from companies that do not commission tests on animals and in testing our products on humans.

We believe in happy people making happy soap, putting our faces on our products and making our mums proud.

We believe in long candlelit baths, sharing showers, massage, filling the world with perfume and in the right to make mistakes, lose everything and start again.

We believe our products are good value, that we should make a profit and that the customer is always right.

* We also believe words like fresh and organic have honest meaning beyond marketing.


I’ve known about LUSH stores for years since there’s usually one within a few blocks of any Anthropologie store, and you can smell the soaps from 20 feet away. They carry all kinds of bath and skin products, and the store smells phenomenal. I can’t recall if I’d ever actually purchased anything from them – maybe a fizzy bath bomb – but I went in two weeks ago on the advice of a friend.

My skin is very sensitive and “troubled”, and has been since the age of ten. When dermatologists and aestheticians look at my face, they exclaim: “Wow, you have TRUE combination skin!” Which means somehow it’s both oily AND dry at the same time. Uh, great.

So I stopped by LUSH’s location at the 3rd Street Promenade in Santa Monica (there’s one not far from my house in Beverly Hills too) and started chatting with one of their sales associates. She was sweet and ever-so-informative and steered me to the above-mentioned “Angels on Bare Skin” cleanser for my combo face, which hasn’t been liking any of the Whole Foods-purchased cleansers I’ve been using on it lately.

“Angels on Bare Skin” is made with clay, finely ground almonds, rose oil and lavender oil. It smells amazing and after the first time I used it, my skin was SUPER soft. After 2-3 days, the tiny bumps that have been popping up along my jawline the past two months (not pimples really, just…bumps) began to disappear. I really don’t think I’ve ever used a cleanser that makes my skin feel this nice. Next pay check I’m planning on trying their Tea Tree Water Toner, also recommended for me by the sales associate I spoke with.

So, for those of you looking for healthy, consciously-made, AND awesome skin-care stuff, try LUSH! I’m a fan.

Leave a Reply

