Facebreaks & Sunroots

November 10, 2010

Challenge Updates: Last month my goals were to buy all of my fruits and veggies from Farmer’s Markets, eat pretty much vegan during the week, and only have refined sugar every other day.

I got through the month entirely on FarMar produce – no New Zealander apples for me! Seriously, everything just tastes better (cucumbers actually taste like cucumbers, and the snozberries taste like snozberries) and I’ve started getting deals from the vendors I see regularly, which is awesome. I also discovered a new vegetable called Sunroot (or Sunchokes or Jerusalem Artichokes). I thought it was ginger and bought some, then luckily overheard an Italian chef telling a woman it wasn’t ginger. I started chatting with him in Italian (Ciaaao sei un cuoco? Ma che cazzo sono queste cose?) and he told me how to prepare them. I’ll let you know how it goes!

I did pretty good on the veganism, but I totally failed on the sugar-every-other-day challenge. I’ll partially blame that on the huge tin of Danish Butter Cookies in our office. Abstinence is so much easier for me than moderation! So I’ve decided that practicing moderation is going to be a focus of mine in 2011.

Speaking of abstinence, I also took a week-long Facebreak – no checking Facebook. It was easier than I thought it would be, and was, surprisingly, awesome. It was such a RELIEF not to be checking Facebook. I use FB as a distraction and procrastination tool. So, the majority of the time, when I’m on FB, I’m judging myself and feeling like I SHOULDN’T be on FB – I feel like should be doing something more productive. Like working. Or writing. This ends up with me feeling bad or guilty about using FB. So not checking it at ALL got rid of all those negative thoughts and subsequent icky emotions. I felt better, I got more stuff done, and I felt like I had less mental clutter.

My friend China was the one who inspired me to do a week-long Facebreak with her, and she wrote a wonderful, detailed blog about it, Fifteen Reasons for a Facebreak. We both enjoyed our Facebreak so much that we decided to extend it to 21 days, to cement the change in our Facebook usage habits. We’d both like to use FB more as a tool and less as a distraction. A friend of mine made the comment, “Facebook’s not a drug,” but actually, it serves the same purpose as a drug – distractions & addictions are both things that disburse your mental energy and are used to cover up underlying emotions that you don’t want to deal with.

“Josh Billings said, “It is not only the most difficult thing to know oneself, but the most inconvenient one, too.” Human beings have always employed an enormous variety of clever devices for running away from themselves, and the modern world is particularly rich in such stratagems.”

– John W. Gardner

 

Additionally, I’ve figured out that Facebook is to Relationships as Fast Food is to Healthy Food. Facebook and Fast Food are quick, convenient, and filling for short time. But they usually leave you feeling unsatisfied. Fast Food does not nurture your body; Facebook does not nurture your soul. It SEEMS like you’re connecting with your friends, but the interaction is so shallow and one-sided that you aren’t really. Facebook is never going to give you what you’re actually craving – a REAL connection with the people you care about. It’s just shallow friend clutter. I’d rather focus on building my Core Relationships – the 10 or so people who I really love and care about and who are true friends – via face-to-face interactions or at least talking on the phone.

So, that’s a goal for this month. I’m also trying to clear up my psoriasis, which means no booze/refined sugar/coffee or other acidic stuff til it’s gone. I made my first soup the other night – Leek, Pear & Sweet Potato Soup – and it was delish, so I have the feeling I’ll be eating lots of soup this month. Made from Farmer’s Market veggies, of course. Let me know if you want to come over for dinner and some quality, face-to-face conversation! 😉

4 Responses to “Facebreaks & Sunroots”

  1. mikey said

    Go Meeeeeeechellle!!!!!!!! =)

  2. I love that John W. Gardner quote!

Leave a Reply

