R-October = Weekday Vegan + 1/2 Marathon

October 6, 2010

It’s R-October, and I’m ready to R-October out on a few challenges:

1. Buy all produce locally – I love me some Farmer’s Markets, and I noticed that Trader Joe’s apples are being flown in from NEW FRIGGIN’ ZEALAND! Not cool. If they’re gonna pay for something to fly between here and NZ, it should be me, not a apple.

2. On weekdays: No coffee, no meat, no dairy – all acidic and not so good for me. Hmm, I guess I’ll pretty much be going Vegan, since I only eat eggs if I’m having brunch the weekends.

3. Every other day: No processed sugar – cutting all sugar is quite complicated…I’m gonna give myself a break this month. Sugar does include alcohol.

I’m also meditating daily and doing Positive Aspect work.

I like my challenges. They stop me from being complacent, and from drifting aimlessly through life (which I’m inclinded to do).

I came across these good quotes from Jim Rohn the other day:

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons.”

“You cannot change your destination overnight, but you can change your direction overnight.”

Speaking of changing direction, I also started training for my first half-marathon!!! I’ve never been much of a runner, but after doing the 50 Mile Challenge Walk for three years now, shifting over to wearing Vibram Five Fingers a year ago, and reading Born to Run, I’ve been thinking more and more about doing a half marathon.

The one I picked is up in Santa Barbara (love it) and ends with a wine-beer-music festival (love it). I figure if I can walk 50 miles, with proper training I can run 13, and drink afterwards. I’m hoping to do it in my Vibram Five Fingers…so, I’m planning on training more than I need to, and hoping I don’t injure myself in the process.

One more quote for the road:

“One’s philosophy is not best expressed in words; it is expressed in the choices one makes. In stopping to think through the meaning of what I have learned, there is much that I believe intensely, much I am unsure of. In the long run, we shape our lives and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And, the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.”

Eleanor Roosevelt

5 Responses to “R-October = Weekday Vegan + 1/2 Marathon”

  1. Jacob said

    Hey that’s awesome! I’m going vegan, too — and cutting out refined carbs like bread, rice, soda… So far I feel awesome, though I need some new recipes.

    Also, I miss cheese 🙂

    • lunasealife said

      Yay! I did a refined sugar/processed foods fast in May & August. I did feel a lot better. I’m looking forward to hearing about some of your new recipes!!!

      I don’t know about totally cutting out cheese and meat…I’ll do weekend for this month and see how it goes. Baby steps! 😉

      By the way, check out this article on food – it’s one of the best I’ve read. Interesting argument against raw food diets.
      http://harvardmagazine.com/2004/05/the-way-we-eat-now.html

  2. Gloria said

    I think that’s the same half marathon Anthony did. IT should be a great first timer. It’s along the water and flat. I think he bested his time by like half an hour.

    Good luck with your goals! I’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

