Doing another Cleanse Challenge Thing!

August 2, 2010

I’ve decided to do the multi-faceted cleanse/challenge/diet craziness that I did back in May again this month:

No alcohol

No caffeine

No refined sugar

No processed foods

No dairy

No red meat

Basically, I try to follow the diet my Ayurvedic doc prescribed me. I made it for the whole month of May with only a few cheat days – a vacation weekend and a couple meals out – but at the end of it I felt amazing, and (judging from the number of separate incidences in which people used the word “radiant” to describe me) I looked good too.  I started yesterday, and after walking 20 miles with my mom, I was proud of myself for resisting one of my favorite things in the world: Claim Jumper’s Cheesy Garlic Bread. Of course, the night before I’d pigged out on deep dish Chicago pizza and a literal mountain of banana caramel chocolate cream pie, but that’s for another blog.

It helps that I just watched that video (and am reading the book) by the neurologist who blames cancer on sugar. It also helps that I went to Vegas last month, not to mention Palm Springs and Santa Cruz, and had a Bacon Donut, and had Bloodcake and various other forms of Pork Fat at my favorite gastropub, Waterloo & City. Again, that’s for another blog. (W’NB!).

I do Challenges regularly but, aside from the Blog-A-Day-For-30-Days, I haven’t been the best at keeping the public updated on my Challenge experiences. So I’ll attempt to blog about my no alcohol-caffeine-refined sugar-processed foods-dairy-red meat experience at least every other day.

P.S. Serendipitously, DailyOM posted an article about Inner Spring Cleaning today! Though it’s summertime… Not that you can really tell in LA this year.

3 Responses to “Doing another Cleanse Challenge Thing!”

  1. Julie said

    An acquaintance of mine from school (we went through the nutrition program together) found out she had Cancer but I forgot what type. She cut out sugar completely. She was relatively healthy to begin with but I remember her telling me this program she followed, to keep her diet in check, and something about how sugar feeds cancer. It wasn’t too long of a conversation but it sparked my interest. She went through radiation and chemotherapy as well, but used a lot of complimentary methods as well. I remember seeing her in class, even when she was going through the treatments. She said that she didn’t get any side effects from either, which I think is amazing. She credited a lot of her success to diet and also going regularly to an acupuncturist who worked with cancer patients. She was cancer free after a year.

  2. […] Day 13 update of my No Caffeine/Alcohol/Refined Sugar/Processed Food/Red Meat/Dairy Challenge = I am feeling fabulous. I’ve been eating apples and almonds and spinach and asparagus and […]

Leave a Reply

