Jim Morrison on Pain

June 29, 2010

Contrasting my last blog (A Satisfied Mind) with today’s topic, it’s good to note that I’m feeling the full gamut of emotions. Ha!

…Though I suppose being satisfied doesn’t mean that you don’t experience pain, or that you have to be happy all the time. Thanks for the reminder, Jim:

“People are afraid of themselves, of their own reality; their feelings most of all. People talk about how great love is, but that’s bullshit. Love hurts. Feelings are disturbing. People are taught that pain is evil and dangerous. How can they deal with love if they’re afraid to feel? Pain is meant to wake us up. People try to hide their pain. But they’re wrong. Pain is something to carry, like a radio. You feel your strength in the experience of pain. It’s all in how you carry it. That’s what matters. Pain is a feeling. Your feelings are a part of you. Your own reality. If you feel ashamed of them, and hide them, you’re letting society destroy your reality. You should stand up for your right to feel your pain.”

– Jim Morrison

I realized today that my fear of pain is always worse than pain itself. I’m talking about emotional pain, but I suppose this applies to physical pain, which is just a construct of your brain anyways… So perhaps all pain is just emotional?

The most painful experiences of my life have been the ones that have led to the most emotional growth. What if I could welcome pain as a catalyst for growth, rather than fearing it and causing myself anxiety and trying to avoid it? I suppose that’s what courage is.

“Life without pain is a long endless chain of errors repeated again and again. So don’t be afraid of pain, don’t run away.”

– Pain (punk band)

Before learning mindfulness/meditation/yoga/breathing techniques, I don’t think I ever knew how to effectively deal with pain. So I would deny or avoid it. Now that I know what it is, and what to do with it, and that it’s not that scary, it passes in a few minutes. And then I have the space to feel another emotion – contentment, joy, satisfaction. I like that.

“Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.”

– Dante A. Lavey

One Response to “Jim Morrison on Pain”

  1. There was a full moon this weekend and an eclipse tonight so everything is magnified. Any habits, fears and desires are extra strong right now. Not to mention Summer Solstice is coming up. Trust, I’m feelin’ it too girl. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

