A satisfied mind.

June 25, 2010

Jeff Buckley is one of my favorite singers of all time. At the age of 30, having only recorded one complete album and being 1/2 way through his second, he drowned while going for a spontaneous swim in the Mississippi  river.  I always found it odd that he died of drowning, since he references it in other songs (“And I couldn’t awake from the nightmare that sucked me in and pulled me under”).

Anyways, I suppose this is an odd transition, but I thought about Jeff today because I realized how happy I was, and his song Satisfied Mind popped into my head. Take a listen:

Satisfied Mind
(J.Hayes/J.Rhodes)

How many times have you heard someone say,
“If I had money, I would do things my way.”
But little they know, that it’s so hard to find
one rich man in ten, with a satisfied mind.

Money can’t buy back all your youth when you’re old,
a friend when you’re lonely, or peace to your soul.
The wealthiest person, is a pauper at times
compared to the man with a satisfied mind.

When my life is over and my time has run out,
my friends and my loved ones, I will leave there’s no doubt.
But one thing’s for certain, when it comes my time,
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind.
But one thing’s for certain, when it comes my time,
I’ll leave this old world with a satisfied mind,
satisfied mind.

2 Responses to “A satisfied mind.”

  1. Erika Anaya said

    Still my favorite version of this song – but I really love the Johnny Cash version, and the Bob Dylan one too. Each singer makes it so distinctly their own…good stuff.

    • lunasealife said

      It’s a beautiful song.
      I have you to thank for introducing me to Jeff back in college. 😉

      Speaking of covers, I was gonna add in this post, but left out: Few things in life have made me as angry as Scarlett Johansson mutilating one of Jeff’s songs…

Leave a Reply

