Desire by Jose James (Moodymann mix)

May 23, 2010

In the interest of “Spreading Goodness” (one of my goals with this blog), I will occasionally use my soapbox to share my favorite songs with you! Here’s my current set-on-repeat-for-weeks song:

I love the feeling of spaciousness – it leaves room for you to be in the song. I love the lean complexity.

I love the the flow of this song, punctuated by the halting beat. It’s like the catching of a breath.
The stops build in a contraction, a tension that comes before the inevitable release. I’m not just alluding to the metaphor of the obvious “release,” but also to release as a general life philosophy – letting go. Letting go of past loves, past dreams, past desires.

I love Jose’s voice. You can hear the desire, and again, not just sexual desire, but the deeper desire that drives all people – that desire for ultimate connection and wholeness that pulls us endlessly towards other people. The funny thing, maybe the sad thing, is that no matter what society, or advertising, or Hollywood, or love songs tell you, You are the only one who can fill that hole in your heart. You are the only person who will ever be able to make yourself whole. The god that the religious seek, the comfort that addicts seek, the understanding that scientists seek, the connection that lovers seek – It can only be found in your heart.

Sad songs about longing or loss or loneliness have always been my favorites. I love That Ache. Soul to Squeeze, What’s the Use, Say It Ain’t So, Seasons, How Do I Let Go, Horse with No Name, Crazy, The Time Is Now, Mayonaise, Strade, Everybody Wants To Rule the World… There’s something sweet about melancholy. Maybe it’s the pain of caring so much. The pain of feeling the expanisiveness in your heart. Maybe it’s because I’m usually a happy person, and sad songs connect me with the pain I usually don’t acknowledge. Maybe it’s knowing that you’re not the only one who feels That Ache.

2 Responses to “Desire by Jose James (Moodymann mix)”

  1. Shelli Stapp said

    Well written and well said. Thank you for that.

    • lunasealife said

      Thanks hon!

      Just came across this quote:
      “If you want to see the love of your life, look in the mirror.”
      -Byron Katie

      🙂

Leave a Reply

