I’m not sure exactly what I’m doing…

May 18, 2010

but I feel compelled. I wish there was a full moon; I could blame it on that. But there’s not.

I ordered business cards today.
I also bought a domain name.
And registered a gmail address.
All for LunaSeaLife.

My new business card!

I’m afraid I’m wasting my money. Or that people will think I’m stupid. Or that my ideas will never set sail, but remain in the harbor of my mind, where they’ve been sitting for the majority of my life: Bored, rusty, and crumbling.

Why LunaSeaLife?

Luna
Sea
Lunacy
Life

The moon
The sea
The tides

Cycles of life
Cycles of breath
Cycles of death

This crazy life, the crazy cycles
The earth, the universe, space, darkness, light, nothing, everything
Heavy, weightless
Grounded, in the heavens
Reflecting, Shining, Glowing

Main Entry: lu•na•cy
Pronunciation: \ˈlü-nə-sē\
Function: noun
Etymology: lunatic
Date: 1541
1 a : INSANITY b : intermittent insanity once believed to be related to phases of the moon
2 : wild foolishness : extravagant folly
3 : a foolish act

Lately I’ve been inspired by some of the amazing people around me who act on their dreams. If you’re reading this, you may be one of them. I’ve also been inspired (the word “inspire” comes from breath, life breathed into me) by Brian Johnson and his PhilosophersNotes.com. I don’t get a kick-back or anything, but I’ve been listening to one of his 20-minute Cliff Notes-style summaries of amazing philosophical and self-development books a day since January 16th, and do believe they’re starting to affect my brain.

I’m also inspired by another lunatic, the Everest-climbing mountaineer, W.H. Murray:

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness concerning all acts of initiative and creation. There is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans; that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen events, meetings and material assistance which no one could have dreamed would have come their way. I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:

“Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now!””

Love that. Love Goethe (though when I finally heard how you’re actually supposed to pronounce his name, I was totally disappointed. Gerta?!? Bleh! Goth sounds so much cooler…). Also love me some Thoreau:

“If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with success unexpected in common hours. He will put some things behind, will pass an invisible boundary: new, universal, and more liberal laws will begin to establish themselves around and within him; or old laws will be expanded and interpreted in his favor in a more liberal sense, and he will live with license of a higher order of beings.”

One last quote (I swear). I had to throw this in, because it’s one of my all-time favs, and I just realized that there’s a ship on the business card I picked out:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
-Mark Twain

2 Responses to “I’m not sure exactly what I’m doing…”

  1. Erika said

    In high school I always pronounced it GO-ETH. I reacted the same way when my drama teacher taught us how to pronounce it. But she pronounced it GERT-AY. Whatever, if it’s Gertay, Gerta, Goeth or Goth…it’s still a good quote.

    Business cards are usually so boring. But it’s something tangible – and reminds people of you. I really like yours – it feels like you. So money well spent!

    • lunasealife said

      Thank you love! I’ll give you one when I see you next! 😉 I’m thinking sometime in June, when I can drink again…I’m really missing wine!

      For the cards, I’d selected about about 8 designs to from (all blue/green/turquoise, of course) but I went with the ship on a whim. Plus LunaSeaLife looks good there. And it’s more interesting than just a beach scene. 🙂

Leave a Reply

