Me and my Self

June 1, 2011

“Only by its own roots does a tree stand tall and only by its own light does the sun shine brightly and bring life to our world. So it is with you – only when you’re trusting, loving and rooted in your true Self will the life that is your highest potential begin to manifest. Only when you are walking on the path of your highest potential will you ever be able to shine brightly and bring light to the darkness in others.”                                          – Anonymous

 

That nugget is from www.TheDailyLove.com. Always sharing wisdom and spreading love, that guy.

I’d like to add to the quote: it’s only by shining brightly that you can bring light to the darkness within yourself, your own shadows, and accept them; thus accepting everyone else, and in doing so giving them the space to begin to accept themselves too. It’s a vicious, vicious circle. :)

Today I started the day off walking on the path of my highest potential. Well, running it. I woke up at 6am, did some journaling, meditated for 15 minutes, did 40 minutes of yoga, ran for 25 minutes while I listened to a kick-ass mix by Wattie Green (listen and download it for free here), organized some clutter, made some Good Earth Sweet & Spicy tea (it’s my favorite tea ever – super cinnamony, you can buy it at Ralph’s), and now I’m working through some To-Do’s that I’ve been putting off for awhile. Soon I’ll be headed to the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market for some vegetables and fruit, and then on to Venice to help a friend in her community garden.

I’ve started employing a tactic I learned from the book I’m currently reading, The Now Habit:  Instead of over-planning, worrying, making lists, and eating my roommates’ cereal or ice cream to put off taking action, I just ask myself: “What needs to be done now?” Turns out the answer is NEVER “Eat your roommate’s ice cream.”

It feels good to be doing what aligns with my highest potential, my highest Self. Though the starting part is hard, once I take the first few steps, life becomes so much EASIER because I’m not avoiding and rationalizing why I don’t need to do yoga right this minute; life’s also so much easier because I don’t have that nagging sense of guilt ALL. THE. TIME. that I didn’t do what I “should” be doing, which is actually what I WANT to be doing, what makes me feel good and clear and happy and healthy.

Enough with the words. Here are some pictures from my neighborhood, which I’ll only be living in for a few more weeks before I “Go Nomad.” I love springtime in LA – jacarandas, jasmine and bougainvillea exploding everywhere. Well, I guess it’s summer now, actually! Woo hoo! Happy June!

 

 

5 Responses to “Me and my Self”

  1. Kristin Brænne said

    Stay excellent! ★

  2. Step away from the ice cream. =)

    • lunasealife said

      I am! I’ve committed!!! I bought replacement ice cream for my roommate and told her I wouldn’t be touching it. :)

  3. Shelli Stapp said

    I love this blog. I get the Daily Love as well. xxoo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

