The Moderation Lie

January 24, 2011

I just read the two lines below in Matt Frazier’s blog and they resonated with me powerfully:

“Michael Phelps didn’t win eight gold medals in one Olympics by practicing swimming in moderation.”

“When people tell you to practice moderation, it’s because they like the status quo.”

Damn straight!!!!!! Thank you, Matt Frazier, for finally giving me a rebuttal to that bullshit line I have to listen to all the time. It’s never resonated with me, though I never knew why. Now I do. I’m stoked.

: D

Go to Matt’s blog to read more about the Great ‘Moderation’ Hoax.

 

I just found more T.R.U.T.H. in one of his other posts:

Moderation works if you already eat well and you’re already healthy. It’s an ideal that one should eventually hope to get to; nobody wants to be “on a diet” for the rest of his or her life.  But moderation isn’t what people need when you’re trying to promote massive change on a cultural level.

Moderation doesn’t inspire, and it doesn’t last when you try to institute it.

This isn’t how you make changes.  You make changes by making radical shifts and sticking with them through discomfort until the pattern is broken.  Once it is, and I mean once you’re really sure that it is, only then can you dip your toe in the moderation pool to see how it feels.”

Leave a comment